You are here

User Guide on HKU Web Conferencing Service (based on Adobe Acrobat Connect Professional)

  1. Pre-requisites for using the Web Conferencing service
  2. Creating a Meeting
  3. Start a Meeting
  4. Run a Meeting
  5. End a Meeting
  6. Managing Uploaded Files

1. Pre-requisites for using the Web Conferencing service

  1. A web browser
     
  2. Install Flash Player Plug-in.
    The software is available in http://www.adobe.com/
     
  3. Install Adobe Acrobat Connect Add-in
    The software is available in http://webconf.hku.hk/common/help/en/support/startmain.htm
    (Note: If you haven’t install the plugin in advance, you will be asked to download and install the plugin during the meeting)
     
  4. Install a webcam and a microphone on the PC. But this is not necessary.

2. Procedure for Creating a Meeting

  1. Invoke a browser and type "http://webconf.hku.hk".  (The webpage will be redirected to a HTTPS secure page automatically.)
     
  2. Enter your departmental account name and password for the Web Conferencing System.
     
  3. The Adobe Acrobat Connect Pro homepage will be displayed.

    homepage
     

  4. Click the "Meetings" at the top menu.
     
  5. Under "Meetings" tab, click "New Meeting".

    New Meeting
     

  6. Fill in the relevant information at the "Name", "Custom URL", "Summary", "Start Time" and "Duration" fields. You may accept default for other fields show on the screen.
    New meeting

     

  7. Click "Next" to the "Select participants" page. Accept the default and click “Next”.

    New Meeting 2


     
  8. At the "Send invitations", copy the message body and paste into your email program, modify the message content and send the email to the participants that you plan to invite. Click "Finish" in the "Send Invitation" page.

    New meeting - Send invitations
     

  9. Before the meeting, you can enter the Meeting Room using the meeting URL and perform Video setup. Go to "Meeting" > "Preferences".

    AV setup
     

  10. Then, choose "Room Bandwidth”. Select “LAN” if most of your meeting participants are within HKU network. Select “DSL/Cable” if most of your meeting participants will join the meeting outside HKU network.
    AV setup 2
     
  11. You can also fine tune the audio setting at "Meeting" > "Audio Setup Wizard".

3. Start a Meeting

3.1 Meeting Host to start a meeting

  1. Enter the meeting URL in your browser, type your account name & password, then click “Enter Room”.
    Enter Room
     
  2. To manage the access to a meeting, go to “Meeting” > “Manage Access & Entry”. The host can invite participants, block guess access, block incoming attendees, etc.

Start meeting 2

 

3.2 Joining a meeting as an attendee

  1. To join a meeting, enter the meeting URL in your browser.
     
  2. Click "Enter as guest".
     
  3. Type in a guest name and click "Enter Room".
     
  4. Wait for the Meeting Host to accept your access.

4. Run a meeting

The host can see the “Meeting”, “Layouts”, ”Pods”, and ”Audio” controls.

Note: “Pods” are panels that contain various types of media, e.g: list of attendees, notes, chat, files, and video.

When the host changes the layout in the “Layouts” menu, the new layout will apply to all participants.

Run meeting

Participants can only see the “Meeting” menu. They cannot change the settings or layout.

Run meeting 2

 

4.1 Managing participants by using the Attendee List pod

Hosts and presenters can monitor name, role, and status. The hosts can assign a participant to be presenter or assign a presenter to be participant through the attendee list pod.

Managing participants

 

4.2 Using camera / microphone

  1. At Video Camera Icon webcam  -> Start My Webcam
  2. In the video pod, click at the upper right hand corner to select camera and setup preferences.
  3. Click on “Start My Webcam” to start sharing your video.
    Start My Webcam 1

    Start My Webcam 2

    Start My Webcam 3

 

4.3 Communicate during training sessions and meetings

In Acrobat Connect, participants can communicate with each other in the virtual room, get instructor’s attention, or actively participate in training sessions and meetings using emoticons, small pictures that show an emotion or an action.

In a training session, click the raise hand toolbar and select an option.
IPresentation

4.4 Sharing content during a meeting

Hosts and presenters (and participants who have been given rights) can use the Share pod to share windows, applications, or entire desktop with participants in a meeting.

Sharing content

4.5 Sharing Presentation

For hosts or presenters who share a presentation in the Share pod, special controls are available for navigating and displaying the presentation.

Here is a sample of presentation slides showing in a share pod.

Presentation slides

4.6 Ask a question using audio

During a training session or meeting, you may ask a participant to answer your question. In the web conference, you can do so as well by enabling microphone temporary for a participant to answer your questions.
Ask a question

 

During a training session or meeting, mouse over a name in the Attendee List. Select “Enable Microphone”. The participant will receive a notification message in the upper-right corner of participant’s screen. Clicks “Speak Now” to start speaking. When the participant has finished speaking, mouse over participant’s name in the Attendee List and click “Disable Microphone”.

4.7 Chat and Q&A in meetings

4.7.1 Chat pod: It is an alternative to audio for the host to communicate with other attendees via text message.

  1. Type in your message in the chat pod.
  2. Messages will appear in the chat pod after they are submitted, and are listed sequentially in the pod.
  3. Presenters can allow participants to conduct private chats, to clear a chat, and to turn off chat notifications.
  4. Chat pod content is persistent, and remains in a meeting room until deleted.

Note: If you want to preserve chat pod content for future use, you can e-mail the content.

Chat Pod

Email Chat History

 

4.7.2 Q&A pod: Presenter answers questions posed by participants.

When a participant asks a question in the Q&A pod, a presenter can answer in the pod either to all participants or just the participant who asked the question.
Q&A Pod

 


5. Ending a Meeting

  1. In the menu bar, select "Meeting" -> "End Meeting".

    End meeting 1
     

  2. Revise the message if you want, and click "OK" to end the meeting and display the message to participants.

    End meeting 2


5.1 Compose an On Hold or End Meeting message

You can write an "On Hold" or "End Meeting" message without interrupting the meeting. This allows you to write the message during the meeting and then send it at the appropriate time.

  1. In the menu bar, select "Meeting" -> "Manage Access & Entry" -> "Place Participants On Hold"

    Compose message
     

  2. Revise the message in the message box.

    Place participants on hold
     

  3. Click "Save Message" to save the message for future use and return to the meeting.


5.2 Restart a meeting that is on hold or has been ended

The Meeting Host can restart a meeting that is on hold or has previously has been ended.

  1. Retype the meeting URL in a browser.
     
  2. On the upper-right corner of the meeting room, hover over the hold meeting icon and in the notification window click "Resume".
    Resume

 


6. Managing Uploaded Files

Files may be uploaded to the system after each meeting. Departmental coordinators should clean up these files after a meeting is ended.

  1. Click "Meeting" > "Manage Meeting information"

    Manage Meeting

    This will open the meeting information page in a new browser window. (You can also access the same page via the Adobe Connect web administration page at http://webconf.hku.hk)

    Click “Uploaded Content” to remove uploaded files or “Recordings” to remove meeting recordings.
     

  2. Select the check box to the left of the item that you want to delete.
     
  3. Click "Delete" on the menu bar above the content list.

    Delete
     

  4. Click "Delete" again to permanently delete the selected items, or click "Cancel" to cancel the deletion.

    Close