How to set up a department abbreviation for use?

Departments can set up a department abbreviation via CF158 for using Departmental SharePoint Workspace and email group for staff.

  • A department can choose her department abbreviation
  • The maximum length of a department abbreviation is 5 characters. 
  • After ITS sets up an abbreviation, the applied Departmental SharePoint Workspace and/or email group for staff will be created and the applicant will be informed of the completion by email

The following is a list of department abbreviations that has been set up and please fill out the same abbreviation in CF149 to apply for using the Auto-updated Mailing List (AML):

Department name Abbreviation
Architecture Faculty foa
Arts Faculty foart
Asia Case Research Centre acrc
Asia Global Institute agi
Business & Economics Faculty fbe
Centre for Applied English Studies caes
Centre for Genomic Sciences grc
Centre for Sports and Exercise cse
Centre of Buddhist Studies cbs
Centre on Behavioral Health cbh
Centre for Civil Society and Governance ccsg
Common Core Office cco
Ctr for Enhance’t of Teaching & Learning cetl
Ctr for Information Tech in Education cite
Ctr of Dev & Resources for Students cedar
Dental Faculty dent
Dental Faculty – Clinical Research Ctr crc
Dental Faculty – External Relations and denke
Dental Faculty – IAD – Multi-Specialty iadal
Dept of Anaesthesiology anaes
Dept of Architecture arch
Dept of Chemistry chem
Dept of Civil Engineering civil
Dept of Computer Science cs
Dept of Diagnostic Radiology diara
Dept of Earth Sciences easc
Dept of Electrical & Electronic Engg eee
Dept of Family Med & Primary Care fmpc
Dept of Geography geog
Dept of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering imse
Dept of Law lawdp
Dept of Mechanical Engg mech
Dept of Medicine udmed
Dept of Obstetrics & Gynaecology og
Dept of Ophthalmology ophth
Dept of Orthopaedics & Traumatology ortho
Dept of Pharmacology & Pharmacy pharm
Dept of Physics phys
Dept of Politics & Public Administration ppa
Dept of Prof Legal Education pcll
Dept of Psychology psyc
Dept of Soc Work & Social Administration swsa
Dept of Sociology soci
Dept of Statistics & Actuarial Science saas
Dept of Surgery srg
Development & Alumni Affairs Office daao
Dr. Li Dak-Sum Research Centre ldsrc
Education Faculty faced
Electron Microscope Unit emu
Engineering Faculty engg
Equal Opportunity Unit eou
Estate Office (Sustainability Unit) eo
Estates Off (Budgets and Finance Unit) eo
Estates Off (Customer Services Unit) eo
Estates Off (Housing Management Unit) eo
Estates Off (Information Technology Unit) eo
Estates Off (Management) eo
Estates Off (Mtce & Operations Unit) eo
Estates Off (Procurement Unit) eo
Estates Off (Project Division) eo
Estates Off (Security & Parking Unit) eo
Estates Off (Staffing & OA Unit) eo
Estates Office – Res Space (Cus Qtr) eo
Finance & Enterprises Office feo
General Education Unit gened
Graduate School gsch
Graduate School of the Research Services grsc
HK Institute for Humanities & Soc. Sci. ihss
HK Putonghua Edu & Assessment Ctr peac
HK University Press hkup
HKJC Ctr for Suicide Research & Preventn csrp
Human Resources Office hr
Information Technology Services its
Internal Audit Office iao
Jao Tsung-I Petite Ecole jpe
Jockey Club Student Village III jcsv3
Journalism and Media Studies Centre jmsc
JUPAS Office jupas
Centre for Comparative Medicine Research lau
Law Faculty law
Lee Shau Kee Hall lskh
LKS Medical Faculty lksfm
Mdm SH Ho Residence for Medical Students rms
MIU of the President’s Office miu
Morrison Hall mh
President’s Office vco
RC Lee Hall rclee
Registry – Curr Dev and QA Section cdqa
Registry – Scholarships Office scho
Registry (CPAO) cpao
Registry (General Services) gs
Registry (Research Services) rss
Registry – Academic Liaison Office alo
Registry – Academic Advising Office aao
Registry – Admissions Office ao
Restaurant at JockeyClub Stud Village II jcsv2
Robert Black College rbc
Safety Office hkuso
Sau Po Centre on Ageing coa
School of Biological Sciences sbs
School of Biomedical Sciences sbms
School of Business busi
School of Chinese soc
School of Humanities soh
School of Modern Languages & Cultures smlc
School of Nursing son
School of Public Health sph
Science Faculty sci
Simon KY Lee Hall skylh
SMARTER@HKU Programme Management Office spmo
Social Sciences Faculty foss
Starr Hall starr
Suen Chi Sun Hall scsh
Sustainability Office susto
Swire Hall swire
The Kadoorie Institute ki
The Swire Institute of Marine Science swims
University Archives hkua
University Health Service uhs
University Libraries lib
University Museum and Art Gallery umag
Wei Lun Hall wlh


Multi-Factor Authentication

February 2024
February 2024

Mandatory for all staff accounts

May 2024
May 2024

Mandatory for all student accounts